Posted in Life, New, Poetry, Schizophrenia

ASHAMED NOT

Being someone with a mental disorder

Doesn’t mean that my life has no meaning

I have learned to appreciate life more

With the help of these open-minded people.

*

My brain had already been stabilized

By the drug that balances the chemicals

It feels good to breathe again

Not hearing the voices that’s a bit disturbing.

*

I am willing to go mainstream

Be in a working environment

Promised myself not to miss a single medicine

So that the “normal” me will not go insane.

*

My body may be misshapen

Because of the side effect of the pill that i am taking

I will never pressure myself to be skinny

Because it would only disrupt my sensitive mentality.

*

My situation did make me stronger

People who understand did make me feel better

Thank you God for the favor

For the provision and for helping me recover.

2 thoughts on “ASHAMED NOT

  1. I too am trying to accept this..that my medication has changed my body, that I no longer hear voices, that I can have a life despite this. But you’re right, having other people who get it and understand me has made life so much better!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

